Modern ground effect vehicles

Among GEVs that are at the stage of sale, the most effective are the following:

9-seats GEV "Volga-2", сcreated by the Central design office of HS (Nizhny Novgorod, Russia) under the direction of the chief-designer V.A. Dementiev according to the theory of eminent chief-designer of soviet combat super ground effect vehicles R.E.Alexeyev.

5-seats GEV "Amphistar", created in the closed company "Technologies and transport" (Nizhny Novgorod, Russia) under direction of the chief-designer D.N. Sinitsyn - disciple of R.E.Alexeyev.

8-seats GEV "FS-8", reated by the Australian company "Flightship Ground Effect Pry Ltd" in common with the German company "Airfoil Development GmbH" under the project of the famous German ground effect vehicle designer Hanno Fischer.

The first two GEVs belong to dynamic air-cushion vehicles that are crated by blowing air flow while their motion in relatively narrow clearance between their lifting surfaces and the "ground". Cruise flight height of these GEVs does not exceed 0,5m that does not let tell about their navigability and limits the area of their use by rivers and small lakes. GEV "FS-8" can be used at more flight heights. Its navigability (by flight and by landing) is valued of 2-3 Beaufort. Use of GEV "FS-8" at the height of "ground" more than 1,5m is connected with the risk for safety of its crew because of the insufficient margin of the pitch stability while flight at low altitudes where there is an abrupt decrease of positive influence of "ground effect".

One should especially mention another Russian GEV:  12-seats GEV "Ivolga2", created in the closed scientific and production company "Trek" (Moscow) under direction of the chief-designer V.V. Kolganov. Experimental prototype of this GEV has successfully passed the sea-going and running trials at the Lena and its source in the region of Irkutsk and in the waters of the lake Baikal. GEV "Ivolga" is devoid of defects of the above mentioned GEVs. Its aerodynamic configuration of "composite-wing"-shape, offered for GEVs by the brilliant aircraft designer R.L. Bartini, lets keep the sufficient pitch stability both while guided and unauthorized escape from the "ground" up to the heights at which its influence is not almost felt. This, together with experimentally craft navigability (by flight and by landing) up to 3-4 Beaufort assures to its crew the sufficient safety while flight over the coastal zones with minimal weather conditions limits. Actually, one prepares its line production at one of Russia aircraft building enterprises.

However, GEV "Ivolga2", the best one with its performance characteristics of all the small GEVs built nowadays, possesses a defect like other contemporary GEVs. It consists in the following: for take-off, all the contemporary GEVs need the power of propulsion plant that several times exceeds the power necessary for its cruise flight at the "ground". Thus, all the contemporary GEVs while operation at their main mode, i.e. while flight at the "ground", have to carry ballast such as main engines and fuel for them. It considerably decreases their shipping effectiveness.

Современные экранопланы

Среди ЭП, доведённых в настоящее время до коммерческой реализации, наиболее эффективными считаются:

9-ти местный ЭП “Волга-2”, созданный в ЦКБ по СПК, г. Н-Новгород, Россия, под руководством главного конструктора В.А. Дементьева по идее выдающегося главного конструктора боевых крупнотоннажных советских ЭП Р.Е. Алексеева;

5-ти местный ЭП “Амфистар”, созданный в ЗАО “Технологии и транспорт”, г. Н-Новгород, Россия, под руководством главного конструктора Д.Н. Синицына – ученика Р.Е. Алексеева;

8-ми местный ЭП “FS-8”, созданный австралийской компанией “Flightship Ground Effect Pry Ltd” совместно с немецкой компанией “Airfoil Development GmbH” по проекту известного немецкого конструктора ЭП Ханно Фишера.

Первые два ЭП относятся, по существу, к судам на динамической воздушной подушке, создаваемой набегающим потоком воздуха в процессе их движения в относительно узком просвете между их несущими поверхностями и “экраном”. Высота крейсерского полёта этих ЭП не превышает 0,5 м, что не позволяет говорить о какой-либо их мореходности и ограничивает район их эксплуатации реками и малыми озёрами. ЭП “FS-8” может эксплуатироваться на несколько больших высотах полёта. Его мореходность, по взлёту и посадке, оценивается в 2-3 балла по шкале Бофорта. Эксплуатация ЭП “FS-8” на высотах от “экрана” более 1,5 м связана с риском для безопасности его экипажа из-за недостаточного запаса продольной устойчивости аппарата при полёте на повышенных высотах, где положительное влияние “экранного эффекта” резко снижается.

Особо следует отметить ещё один российский ЭП: 12-ти местный ЭП “Иволга2”, созданный в ЗАО НПК “Трэк”, г. Москва, под руководством главного конструктора В.В. Колганова. Опытный образец этого ЭП в течении нескольких лет успешно прошёл ходовые и мореходные испытания на р. Лене у её истока в районе г. Иркутска и на акватории озера Байкал. ЭП “Иволга2” лишён недостатков, присущих всем вышеупомянутым ЭП. Применённая на нём АДС типа “составное крыло”, впервые предложенная для ЭП выдающимся авиаконструктором Р.Л. Бартини, позволяет ему сохранять достаточную продольную устойчивость как при управляемом, так и при несанкционированном уходе от “экрана” вплоть до высот, на которых его влияние практически уже не ощущается. Это вместе с экспериментально подтверждённой мореходностью аппарата, по взлёту и посадке, до 3-4 баллов по шкале Бофорта обеспечивает его экипажу достаточную безопасность при полёте над прибрежными зонами морей с минимальными ограничениями по погодным условиям. В настоящее время готовится его серийное строительство на одном из авиастроительных предприятий России.

Однако, ЭП “Иволга2” – безусловно лучшему по своим тактико-техническим характеристикам из всех созданных на сегодня малых ЭП, как и всем другим современным ЭП, свойственен общий недостаток. Он связан с тем, что для взлёта всем современным ЭП требуется мощность его силовой установки, в несколько раз большая, чем для его крейсерского полёта “на экране”. Таким образом, все современные ЭП при эксплуатации в своём основном режиме, то есть, при полёте “на экране”, вынуждены “возить” с собой балласт в виде дополнительных масс главных двигателей и топлива для них. Это существенно снижает их транспортную эффективность.